Week 5 – Josh Homme T-shirt

After looking at the designs I had created on society6, a friend of mine asked me to make him a t-shirt with Josh Homme on it. He sent me a photo he liked and mentioned he would like it in Black and White. Hence the theme of this week’s illustration.

For those of you who don’t know who Josh Homme is; he is the lead singer of Queens of the Stoneage. For those of you don’t know what or who Queens of the Stoneage is; It is a band, and Josh Homme is the FACE of it.

So, I opened the photo in Photoshop and changed the contrast, saturation and brightness of the image so it was easy for me to copy. As the image was squared and slightly cut off, I thought it would look better on a t-shirt if I made the image rounded. So using a circle as a guideline, I created many many vector shapes made up of much much more than 50 shades of grey.

So once I had the image of Joshie baby (?), and here comes the interesting part, I used an Ipad app called Symmetry HD to create the effect in the background. What’s interesting about the app is it only lets you create on a black background. But when you export or email the image, it comes up as a png file with a transparent background. Which is perfect!!

All Josh Homme products can be found here

Leave a Reply

